Flag of Australia

    Australia Flag
    Australia flag facts
    Adopted 3 September 1901
    (original version)
    23 February 1908
    (current version)
    Proportion 1:2
    Flag day 3 September

    Australia flag

    Australia flag
    Australia Flag
    The national flag of Australia is a blue field with the Union Jack in the upper hoist-side quadrant, and a large white seven-pointed star known as the Commonwealth Star or Federation Star in the lower hoist-side quadrant. The fly contains a representation of the Southern Cross constellation, made up of five white stars – one small five-pointed star and four, larger, seven-pointed stars.

    Australia Flag - symbolism

    Australia Flag symbolism - meaning

    Union Jack represents Australia’s historical links with the United Kingdom
    White 7-pointed Commonwealth Star stands for the unity of the six states and the territories of the Commonwealth of Australia.
    The Southern Cross, a constellation of five stars that can only be seen in the night skies of the Southern hemisphere, symbolizes Australia’s position in the southern hemisphere. The formal name of the Southern Cross is “Crux Australis” and the individual stars are named by the first five letters of the Greek alphabet in order of brightness – Alpha, Beta, Gamma, Delta & Epsilon.
    Australia Flag Stars

    Australia flag Vs New Zealand flag

    Australia flag
    Australia Flag
    No. of stars 6
    Color of stars White
    New Zealand flag
    New Zealand Flag
    No. of stars 4
    Color of stars Red

    Australian Flag Vs New Zealand Flag

    Differences between Australian Flag and New Zealand Flag
    The main difference between Australia Flag and New Zealand Flag is that the flag of Australia has six white stars while the flag of New Zealand has four 5-point red stars with white borders. Five of the six stars on Australian flag have seven points while the smallest star has five points. Australian flag depicts Southern Cross constellation with five white stars – one small five-pointed star and four, larger, seven-pointed stars while the flag of New Zealand shows Southern Cross with four 5-point red stars with white borders.
    Australian Flag Vs New Zealand Flag

    Australia Flag history

    Royal Exhibition Building
    Australia flag history
    Prior to Federation on 1 January 1901, the official flag of the Australian Colonies was the flag of Great Britain, the 'Union Jack'. Competitions seeking designs for a national flag run by the the Review of Reviews for Australasia, a Melbourne-based publication, in 1900. In 1901 Prime Minister the Rt Hon Sir Edmund Barton MP, announced an international competition to design a flag for the Commonwealth of Australia.

    Australia flag history

    Australia Flag
    On 29 April 1901 a notice was placed in the Commonwealth of Australia Gazette inviting entries in an official competition, offering a prize of £75 to the winning entry. Each competitor was required to submit two coloured sketches, a red ensign for the merchant service and public use, and a blue ensign for naval and official use. The two contests were merged after the Review of Reviews agreed to being integrated into the government initiative. The £75 prize money of each competition were combined and augmented by a further £50 donated by Havelock Tobacco Company. Five near-identical entries were awarded equal first place (£40 each) from the 32,823 entries received.

    Designer Designer's details
    Ivor Evans First Officer with Union Steamship Company of NZ
    Annie Dorrington Teenage optician’s apprentice from Leichhardt, NSW
    Leslie Hawkins 14 year old schoolboy from Melbourne
    Egbert Nuttal well-known artist from Perth
    William Stevens Architect with the Melbourne & Metropolitan Board of Works
    In 1903 King Edward VII approved two designs for the flag of Australia - the Commonwealth blue ensign, and the Commonwealth red ensign, for the merchant Navy. Federal Parliament passed a resolution on the 2 June 1904 to fly this flag 'upon all forts, vessels, saluting places and public buildings of the Commonwealth upon all occasions when flags are used'. The Australian Flag consists of three parts set on a blue field. The first part is the Union Jack, illustrating the link with Britain. The second aspect is the Southern Cross, representing Australia. Finally, the Commonwealth Star represents Australia's federal system. Originally, the Commonwealth Star had six points (for the six states), but, in 1908 a seventh point was added to represent the territories of the Commonwealth.
    The Australian National Flag was flown for the first time in September 1901 at the Royal Exhibition Building in Melbourne. (Melbourne was then the seat of the federal government) While the design and uses of the flag were proclaimed in the Commonwealth of Australia Gazette, it was not until the Flags Act 1953 that legislation was passed prescribing the form and use of the flag. Section 3 of the Act states that the flag (illustrated in the First Schedule to the Act) is 'declared to be the Australian National Flag'.
    Australia flag - Page 1 of 9
    Australia flag

    World Flags